• Click here for an updated Commission Meeting Schedule
  • 4:05 pm CT - Immediately Following Executive Session, whichever occurs later
  • Second Thursday of each month
  • If public hearing is held:
                City Hall – Council Chambers
                 653 Hayes Leonard Road
                 Valparaiso, IN 46385
  • If no public hearing is held the RDC may rotate location to include visits to local businesses. 

Agendas / Minutes

Agendas are available prior to commission meetings.
Most Recent Agenda | View All


Resolutions are available upon approval.
Most Recent Resolutions | View All



Three members are appointed annually by the mayor. Two of the five voting Commission members are appointed by and from the City Council, and one non-voting member is appointed by the mayor from the school board.

Members of the Valparaiso Redevelopment Commission 
Rob Thorgen, President 
Tim Bucher, Representing Schools
Rick Urschel, Vice President 
Patrick Lyp, Legal Counsel
Trish Sarkisian, Secretary
Stu Summers, Executive Director
George Douglas, City Council Member 
Brandon Dickinson, Development Director
Evan Costas, City Council Member 


This department utilizes the City Redevelopment Plans to develop various projects aimed at redevelopment in the City. A six member commission has authority to expend tax increment funds (TIF) for approved projects. The Executive Director coordinates the planning process between the Commission and various City Staff and is responsible for developing a budget for approved projects. The Executive Director works with the Mayor to seek grant funding for a project when appropriate.


Ordinance No. 23, 1993 - An ordinance to establish a Department of Redevelopment pursuant to IC 36-7-14. Passed November 22, 1993